Searching your Amazon.com Wish List

January 25, 2012

I use my Amazon.com wish list a lot. I have hundreds of items in it. I wanted to see if I had any books in my wish list on LaTeX or TeX. So I thought this would be a good use of the Amazon.com API. Unfortunately I found out that they recently removed wish list querying methods from their API. Bummer. Then I came upon this post. http://bililite.nfshost.com/blog/2010/10/31/hacking-my-way-to-an-amazon-wishlist-widget/ . The solution is the layout=compact URL parameter.

First open one of your wish lists on Amazon.com. Add ?layout=compact to the end of the URL in the address bar. This will put all of the wish list items in a single page. Then use the browser’s search feature (ctlr+f) to search the page. If you want to search multiple wish lists, you need to click on each of them and repeat but it sure beats paging through the items.

This is a hidden feature since as far as I can tell there is no way to change the layout through the UI.

Leave a Reply

